Tele Conversion Lens TCL-X100 + sample-shots

A few days ago I received a pretty exciting package! The Fujifilm Tele Conversion Lens TCL-X100 for the X100-Series from Fuji.

As the Fuji X100t has a fixed focal length of 35mm equiv. it’ a nice way to convert the X100t into a nice 50mm equiv. shooter.

Below you’ll find 3 sample-shots from my first photowalk with the Converter-Lens and some thoughts on the product.

The TCL is usually not the cheapest product I must say and that’s pretty much the reason why I got this thing so late! But I finally found a German Online-Dealer with a more than fair price on this thing! If you are interested in buying the converter from germany, just drop me a short line and I will send you the Link. (I don’t want to get too commercial here so I won’t directly link it on my blog)

First attached to the X100T it makes your camera pretty unsexy, front-heavy & bulky… (No recommendation for just showcase-camera-lovers here πŸ˜‰ )

After attaching the lens be sure to activate the conversion-option located in the X100-Menu and you’re ready to go:

DSCF5469-Bearbeitet
Β©Malte Fleuter & RETUELF photography blog

Like the 35mm Lens from the X100t the Conversion-Lens doesn’t make any excuses in terms of sharpness! I simply have no complains about image quality at all! Fuji is really doin’ some magic inside your camera body with the converter attached and the menu-option activated! Some say that the autofocus-speed is a bit slower with the TCL….. is anybody really using autofocus with the X100t?! Forget about those complains or are you really shooting sports-action with a X100 Series Cam? πŸ˜€

DSCF5473-Bearbeitet
Β©Malte Fleuter & RETUELF photography blog

The TCL is a pretty nice compromise for me! The X100t is the only digital Camera I use at the moment and you can’t just change the lens (which is good as I love the prime on it πŸ™‚ )

DSCF5476
Β©Malte Fleuter & RETUELF photography blog

The TCL is a top-recommendation for people who likes the 50mm focal-length and would love to use it on the X100! Wouldn’t recommend the product to people who own another interchangeable-digital-lens-camera as a dedicated 50mm lens will be available for your camera anyway so you don’t have to convert anything.

That’s it for now. I will show more results in the near future πŸ™‚

Any opinions from TCL-owners, haters, lovers etc.? Comment the Post!

 

10 thoughts on “Tele Conversion Lens TCL-X100 + sample-shots

    1. …and way better than all of these 18-55mm dslr-kit-lenses…
      Bought the TCL for about 180€. Isn’t it the best cheap 50mm to get? I really think so πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. this is awesome, great test shots with the teleconvertor indeed… !! thanks for the tip!!
    I use only the Autofocus actually lol πŸ™‚ single AF point and change it every time… this is how I shoot the DSLR as well πŸ™‚ do you use only the manual focus? πŸ™‚

    and where did your nice avatar picture go? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Alexandra πŸ™‚
      The TCL is definitely worth testing! Actually I ordered it for some tests, fell in love with it after just a few shots πŸ˜€

      Jeah, just using manual focus with the x100t cause it turns out I’m much much quicker with the single AF-Point always in the middle, focus -> recompose. Using the cam like this I dont always have to fiddle around with the AF-Points for every different situation πŸ™‚ Try it! First it’ll be annoying, then you will gain speed and outperform any other autofocus-user πŸ˜‰ no kidding here!

      Hm? My Avatar looks fine! What do you mean? πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. it’s interesting how each photographer has their own workflow πŸ™‚ I’ve never had decent results with manual focus, or with central AF+recomposing for that matter (both on DSLR andX100T)… but then I never tried real hard to shoot that way… when you use the manual focus on the Fuji, do you use the magnifier to check if your focus is ok?

        I don’t see your avatar, but maybe it’s on my end only, my internet is very lousy these days… :/

        Liked by 1 person

      2. And it’s even nice to see that there are so many ways to get it right πŸ™‚ Jeah, most of the time I’m using the optical viewfinder with the little evf activated in the corner so I can check the focus within the tiny window. And you are even able to magnify the section shown in the evf. Really worth playing around with that feature πŸ˜‰ And in a situation where you prefer autofocus you can set the AEL/AFL-Button on the back to focus the af-point section. Hm, thinking about writing a blogpost about this technique. Would that be helpful? πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

